Kevin M. Miller

  • Governing Board Position: Chair, Cataract Clinical Committee
  • Governing Board Period: April, 2018 to April, 2019

Kevin M. Miller, MD, is the Kolokotrones Chair in Ophthalmology at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA, Chief of the Cataract and Refractive Surgery Division, Director of the Anterior Segment Diagnostic Laboratory, and a member of the Stein Eye Institute.

Dr. Miller is the recipient of four endowed cataract research funds at UCLA. He received the Honor, Senior Honor, and Lifetime Achievement Awards of the American Academy of Ophthalmology and two Secretariat awards. He was inducted into the International Intra-Ocular Implant Club in 2006. He received many Best Paper of Session awards from the ASCRS. He was also awarded Best Doctors and Super Doctors of Southern California recognitions.

He received his BS in electrical engineering from the Johns Hopkins University Whiting School of Engineering in 1981. He designed and built a facility for testing the Cesium atomic clocks used in global positioning system (GPS) satellites while working summers at the US Naval Research Laboratory. He received his MD at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in 1985, subsequent research fellowship training in Ophthalmic Optics at the Wilmer Eye Institute, and residency training at the UCLA Stein Eye Institute. He joined the full-time faculty at UCLA in 1991 and became a full professor in 2003.